Catching up 1

So, after my total absence from my own blog and commenting on the blogs I read let’s try a recap of the last, well 2 months?!

Overall, there was lots of work and reading and teaching and I’m really glad this is the last week of the semester! Two more seminars tomorrow and of course 204 tests to grade but after that there will be time to relax and time to work on my dissertation research!

I’ve spent a weekend in Berlin at the beginning of June and met up with fellow blogger and knitter Katie. We had lots of fun! Berlin itself was nice as well and I had to let go of some of my reservations about that particular city.Unfortunately, I took a total of THREE pictures and none worth showing here 😦

After this weekend outing things sped up in my garden and I’ still swamped with beans, zucchini, cucumbers (yay, finally!) and as of yesterday with potatoes and beets. And the pumpkin plant shows the first tiny pumpkins! My back still hurts after bending over for quite some time and lugging everything back home afterwards. While it is really cool to grow my own veggies it is also hard and above all time-consuming. I’m not sure if I’ll do it again next year.

Right now I’m looking for new ways to cook the abundance of zucchini and tried my first zucchini galette, courtesy of smitten kitchen and recommended by barefootrooster’s blog.

galette

Delicious!

Right now I’m really busy with the Tour de Fleece but before the start I finished my stripey shawl!

stripes3

stripes4

The details

Pattern: Stripe Study by veera from Rain Knitwear design

Yarn: Araucania Ranco solid (purple) and Old Maiden Aunt Merino Superwash (Marmelade skies)

I really like how this turned out! It looks crazy and stylish and is very soft.

I’m off now to my baking hot flat and my spinning wheel. Also, I’ll have to bake a vegan cake for tomorrow’s last lecture. Top-floor flat + baking + 29 °Celsius = not a good combo! More on my plans to remedy that by next summer later. I’ll be back soon with Tour de Fleece progress pics and more tales. See U!

One thought on “Catching up 1

  1. brokeknits 19. July 2011 / 6:11 pm

    That shawl looks familiar! 😉

Leave a comment