FO: Sheep Heid

sheep1

Ravelry tells me I finished this hat in December 2011 but I haven’t found the time to post and sort the pictures until now.
I’ve become a bit of an addict to Kate Davies’ patterns and when she published her new hat design back in october I couldn’t resist. Also, the internet makes this kind of thing almost too easy and so I bought pattern and wool with only a few clicks. I’ve ordered wool from Jamieson’s & Smith before and I can very much recommend their shop and, above all, their wool. There’s nothing like real Shetland wool for stranded colour work (although some Aade Long, Isager and the Tweed yarns from Rowan work as well). The sheep heid is designed with a colour scheme that makes use of the natural colours Shetland wool comes in and calls for J & S Shetland Supreme Jumper weight yarn. It’s a bit thicker than their regular jumper weight and it feels more ‘sheepy’. It also still smelled like sheep when I pulled it out of its soak – lovely!

009

I’m a slow knitter when it comes to colour work because I knit with one strand in each hand and throwing the yarn is still a bit awkward for me. While I was knitting this I couldn’t resist snapping pictures of the evolving sheep with my camera phone and sending them to various people.

009Since we haven’t had a real winter so far I didn’t have much opportunity to wear my hat but yesterday the temperatures finally dropped a bit. Et voilá: Sheep Heid (albeit a bit blurry) in action!

2012-01-13 12.44.16.jpg

After I finished this project in December I was almost sad I couldn’t continue knitting those adorable sheep – and I didn’t need a second identical hat. Fortunately, Kate Davies fixed this for me and published the rams and yowes blanket which makes use of those ewes and rams AND the same gorgeous yarn. I have ordered more Shetland Supreme from J & S to top up my leftovers…

5 thoughts on “FO: Sheep Heid

  1. Stephanie 15. January 2012 / 4:28 am

    Personally, I think that’s a pretty fast time in colourwork! It’s a wonderful hat, but shame that it’s too warm to wear it (how is that happening EVERYWHERE in the world??).

  2. kfklever 18. January 2012 / 5:34 pm

    This looks lovely! I saw the pattern on Needled and fell in love with the cute little sheep. Fantastic job on the colorwork!

  3. Noas'Libellule 3. February 2012 / 2:12 pm

    I love this pattern – and in general Kate Davies patterns, i really to make one for myself!

  4. katie m. 10. February 2012 / 5:25 pm

    This is so lovely!

Leave a comment