Weekend

I’m writing this snuggled up in my favourite wool blanket on my sofa – I’m determined to avoid putting the heater on before November but it’s chilly outside. And it has gotten a bit damp as well. We had a week of lovely crisp and sunny autumn weather and I’ve seen some beautiful sunsets from my window.

sky3

Unfortunately, this week marked the start of the new semester which means that I have to split my energy and motivation (both a bit scarce at the moment) between teaching and grading and dealing with students and my dissertation with the deadline looming. I’ve been struggling to get anything written and the last two days left me especially frustrated. Yesterday I gave up in the early afternoon after hours spent writing what amounts to roughly one page and tried to do something nice.

I made some bread.

soda_bread

This is the Rye Soda bread from my recently acquired Supernatural Every Day cooking book by Heidi Swanson. It’s easy, very quick to prepare and quite tasty. Since I’m spending six out of seven days at home I might as well use the time I’m not wasting in public transport to cook for myself. This book will see some use, I think! I’ll report on how that will turn out!

There has been some knitting as well and the giant cowl is about halfway done:

wellenreiter1

I saw this one at my LYS and since they sold both the pattern and the yarn (it’s Rowan Colourscape) I’m now counting short rows.

Unfortunately the pattern is not meant for mindless knitting so I’m making progress on a sweater I cast on before I left for London, Argo. I had to rip it back twice!!! already; the first time because the armholes were to tight and the second time because I somehow accumulated about 15 cm excess fabric around my bust.

argo2 (Before ripping back)

It looks ok now so I’m keeping my fingers crossed I will be able to put the waist shaping in the right spot.

argo3(after the ripping)

We’re in for a few more rainy days so I imagine I will make some headway with the cardigan in the evenings.
I’ve been able to sneak in some spinning but I’ll save that for another post. Happy weekend!

2 thoughts on “Weekend

  1. katie m. 14. October 2012 / 5:17 pm

    Ooh, I love that red! Looks like a great pattern, and good relaxation knitting. Hope all is well with the diss!

Leave a Reply

