More yarn and some knits

I’ve spent the easter weekend up north at my parent’s and had a lovely time as you can see!

Strandkorb2

We had some rain but over all the weather was quite nice if a bit nippy (hence the layers!).

Poldi

My parents have a Strandkorb (the leo.org translation of roof wicker beach chair is a bit over the top) in their garden and our dog Poldi is convinced it’s his but we negotiated to share it – meaning I was granted a small space squashed to the side of the chair.

Tree

It was lovely in the sun and I spent the afternoon happily knitting on my Curiosities Cardigan. Which brings me to part two of the Great Yarn and Knits Catch-up!

Let’s start with the cardigan. I’m using the pile of Hello Yarn Fiber ‘Curiosities’ I spun up during the last Tour de Fleece. I had 20 oz which came to about 1080 meters of a DKish yarn.

tdf10

This is the first cardigan I’ve knit without a pattern. I made a swatch and fiddled with the numbers and then kept my fingers crossed that I had managed to put the Raglan markers in the right place (which I did, thankfully).

curiosities1

The colours are a bit paler than what I usually wear but so far I like it! I’m actually further along than the picture above shows and have just about started in on the increase part of the waist shaping. So far I’m still only into the third skein so I should be fine with three-quarter length sleeves. I can’t wait to wear this!

Apart from the cardigan I’ve finally finished a shawl I’ve been knitting for some time now. There seems to be a theme here, because for this I used handspun as well – the BFL from Wildcraft I wrote about in my last post.

bone1

This was my first try at spinning a semi-woolen yarn (worsted prep + wonky backward draw with lots of twist) and the resulting yarn and the texture of the shawl is airy and quite lovely. The pattern is Steven West’s Boneyard Shawl which is a nice simple knit – perfect telly knitting.

I’m working from home today and it’s another day of course preparation and collecting data for my dissertation. Might throw some knitting in… 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “More yarn and some knits

  1. mywordlyobsessions 11. April 2012 / 10:55 am

    You definitely seem to have had a good time! I’ve been spending Easter break crocheting some stuffed toys. I gave one away to our neighbours one year old daughter for Easter ( a Hello Kitty dool along with a matching Easter egg!) and she loved it. I’m now making an extra large one for myself. I’m just a big kid 🙂

    I adore that multicoloured yarn you have there. That would make such a comfy cardy! Good luck for the dissertation.

  2. barefootrooster 11. April 2012 / 12:44 pm

    that yarn (and the cardigan it is becoming) is gorgeous! and that shawl! love the color transitions. (also, hello, sweet dog!)

Leave a Reply

