Yarn, glorious yarn! (part 1)

So, I’ve finally managed to catch up with the blog posts in my google reader inbox and writing a few comments. The new semester started yesterday and I’m a bit overwhelmed by balancing dissertation work and ‘work- work’ (i.e. teaching three courses). Today I admitted defeat around noon as I seem unable to concentrate on anything. I’m still a bit rattled after a fierce migraine attack on Saturday which caught me right in the middle of the university library. I had to take a cab back to my flat which is on the other side of town. The rest of Saturday mostly took place in my bed. But enough of the bad stuff!

I realized I have a huge backlog of finished handspun I haven’t shown you yet,  mostly because of the battery problem I mentioned in my last post. Since I also have one Finished Object and another WIP to show I decided to make two posts out of it. So, let’s get started with the yarn!

#1: Hello Yarn Cauldron
cauldron1

cauldron2

Stats:

Fibre: Polwarth

chain-plyed; ca. 85m/4 oz; Bulky weight

I had this on my wheel for the better part of three months (I think I pulled the fibre out of the stash around the end of october 2011) and only finished it in January. This is the much coveted Hello Yarn Club fibre which I scored on a destash and I have a nother 4 oz under my bed. It’s destined to become a huge, fluffy cowl for next winter and I spun it fairly thick and then chain-plyed it so it came out at about chunky weight (no idea how much wpi).

#2: Wildcraft/SpotSpins Fibre Calendula Shades

calendula2

Since this yarn will also feature in my second post I’ll keep it short. The fibre is an oatmeal BFL overdyed with a dark golden orange and darker browns. This was my first attempt at a woolen spun yarn albeit with a worsted fibre preparation. Nevertheless, the resulting yarn is very light and fluffy and looks very different from my usual handspun.
It’s a heavy fingering weight and I got about 388 meters out of 4 oz.

#3: Southern Cross December ’11 Fiber Club Oceanic

oceanic1

oceanic2

Stats:
Fibre: BFL /Silk
2 ply, light DK weight
213m/4 oz

This BFL/Silk mix spun like butter or, well, like silk! It also went incredibly fast, I think it took me just one weekend to spin, ply and finish the yarn. The skein feels very heavy and the yarn is smooth and lovely. I’m totally in love!

#4: Spunky Eclectic Club Fiber Tossed Salad

salad2

Stats:
Fiber: Karaoke (50% fine wool/50%Soy Silk)
2 ply
91, 5m / 2 oz

This was the luxury club offering last year and something of a wild card for me. It was a bit hard to spin because the Soy Silk tended to stick together in chunks but the finished yarn is great. The colour is fresh but not too loud and the yarn almost feels like cotton.
So, last one for today:

#5: Spunky Eclectic Club Fiber Mordor

mordor3

mordor5

Stats:
Fibre: Corriedale
 chain-plyed
heavy DK weight; 177m/4 oz

I had planned to spin this for socks but decided against it. Not sure what I’ll do with it as the colour would look a bit odd with my wardrobe.
So, this is it for today. As you can see, I’ve got my spinning mojo back and there’s more to see. I’ll return soon with the rest of the lot – some more yarn and a bit of knitting, too.

3 thoughts on “Yarn, glorious yarn! (part 1)

  1. barefootrooster 3. April 2012 / 4:50 pm

    OH MY GOODNESS! All of this is so lovely, squishy, and gorgeous. Apologies for shouting. I love it all.

  2. Svenja 3. April 2012 / 7:08 pm

    Wow, das sieht ja alles sehr vielversprechend aus. Ich weiß gar nicht, was mir am besten gefällt. Hab gerade bei Ravelry die Anfänge (naja, bist ja schon wieder halb fertig!) Deines Curious Cardigan entdeckt. Das sieht ja mal so richtig super aus!! Die Farben sind absolut großartig! Ich mochte ja schon das gesponnene Garn sehr gern, aber verstrickt ist das fast noch toller. Kompliment!
    Sorry, bin grad zu bräsig für Englisch-Output.
    Ich hoffe, Dein Kopf ist jetzt wieder friedlich!

  3. agujasblog 3. June 2012 / 4:36 pm

    I agree with the first comment – these are all lovely!

Leave a Reply

