Honey, I’m back!

I’ve been absent from the blog again and reverted to lurking around the blogs I read instead of commenting 😦 Part of the problem is a certain laziness that comes with the time away from regular work (the new semester starts next week) and the other part is the always looming deadline for my dissertation.

At the end of last year we were notified that the building I work in (and studied in most of the time) is contaminated with PCB which is known to be toxic. Apart from being angry that this fact has been known to the university for about ten !!! years and they now seem very reluctant to do anything about it this has seriously disrupted my routine. I have a hard time motivating myself and avoiding my office has put a wrench into my plans. So, I got myself an upgrade on my home office and started moving most of my books from the office back home. Have a look!

Homeoffice

So, I have worked on my dissertation research both at home and at the library and now I’m neck-deep in lots of necessary preparations for the classes I’ll start teaching on monday.
There has been knitting and spinning since my last post and I have in fact some FOs to show – as soon as I get the batteries for my camera charged. Until then, I’ll leave you with some short notes:

  • I have become obsessed with podcasts, especially The Electric Sheep by Hoxton Handmade. I might have downloaded the last ten episodes already…. If you like podcasts and don’t know her yet, go have a listen!
  • As if I didn’t have enough spinning fibre already I found a new shop on etsy – Hilltop Cloud. I’ve ordered a beautiful BFL/Shetland/Silk roving and four fluffy balls of North Ronaldsay roving. I can’t stop petting this fibre it’s incredibly soft!
  • My blog has been nominated for an award and I was at first a bit shocked and then excited and now determined to get back into blogging.
  • I fixed the problem with my Celery cardigan by cheating with needle and thread. And voila – the offending bits just vanished!
  • We enjoyed a brief period of lovely spring weather and I’ve been outside as much as possible. I’m glad I did because apparently spring is now taking a break and the temperatures dropped by almost ten degrees and this afternoon shall bring rain.
  • I’m dentist-bound today and while I’m no longer as anxious as two months ago I still hate it 😦

That’s it for now, I’ll be back as soon as my camera works again!

5 thoughts on “Honey, I’m back!

  1. Jodi 29. March 2012 / 5:37 pm

    The office situation sounds scary! Oh, universities… congrats on the award nomination, hooray for having a great workspace at home, and good luck with the diss.

  2. Svenja 29. March 2012 / 10:49 pm

    Damn, your workspace looks so neat and tidy, I’m more than envious! When this bloody exam-thing is over I promise I will visit you. It would be wonderful to stroll along the Rhine again, eating ice cream or just chatting merrily. Pinky swear!
    So great that you received the award! Congratulations! And she’s absolutely right, your colourwork certainly is pretty neat. Not always my kind of colour as we’re very different in that department, but surely admirable.
    Please excuse the increased amount of swear words, I guess I’m metamorphism into a sailor or something.

    • Svenja 31. March 2012 / 8:42 pm

      ääh… metamorphing, of course!

  3. katie m. 14. April 2012 / 9:09 pm

    Oh, no! I’m glad you’ve managed to relocate … but it’s always such a hassle to get a new routine into place. Good luck with the semester!

    • missingneedle 16. April 2012 / 12:07 pm

      …. especially because I’ve struggled with the original routine as well. It can only get better…

Leave a Reply

