FO: Tea Leaves Cardigan

It’s done! And I can’t believe it only took me about seven weeks to knit this!

tealeaves4Stats:
Pattern: Tea Leaves Cardigan by Melissa LaBarre
Yarn: New Lanark DK
Needles: 3 mm/3,5 mm

I’ve wanted to knit this cardigan for a long time but somehow never got around to actually doing it. Now it’s finished I’ve worn it almost constantly since last Monday and it fits well. Unfortunately I think this particular shape doesn’t look very flattering on my figure; there’s something about the roundness of the shoulders which results from the yoke that make me look too… bulky. I think I need more straight lines to counteract the more curvaceous parts of my body 😉

Nevertheless, I’m quite pleased with this project and above all with the yarn. I used New Lanark DK in the blueberry colourway which has sat in my stash for years. I’ve loved working with the Donegal Silk Tweed on my Idlewood and their DK yarn is equally lovely. It’s a sheepy yarn with a slightly heathered look and it softened up quite a bit after a soak.

tealeaves5

I had to go out of town to look for the buttons and found those lovely kermit-green ones. They’re quite the eye catcher 🙂

So, that’s one sweater down for my 6 sweaters in 2012 challenge and I’ve started swatching for Kate Davies’s Deco. Keeping my fingers crossed I’ll manage to get gauge this time….

6 thoughts on “FO: Tea Leaves Cardigan

  1. Stephanie 26. February 2012 / 11:55 pm

    Another example of a beautiful cardigan… Although yours looks nicer than the pattern’s picture. Maybe it’s because I love the colors? Deco is also a cardigan I’d love to knit. Can’t wait to see it, too!

  2. katie m. 19. March 2012 / 2:59 pm

    This is beautiful! And the green buttons are just the thing!

  3. Tara 2. August 2012 / 9:07 pm

    I love your cardi, and the buttons are my favourite colour… in fact, I am making one in this colour for myself. I was wondering what cast on you used, if you don’t mind?

Leave a Reply

