Idlewood

Well, since my deadline for the dissertation (aka Deadline of Doom) is always on my mind I haven’t been idle (much) , both concerning work and knitting. Let’s not talk about the 2 oz of Hello Yarn Cauldron that have been sitting on my wheel since October last year…. Now, I won’t bore you with the details of my master plan to meet the DoD – if you can understand German and want to have a look, go here – but it amounts to a lot of work taking up a lot of time. Despite this I managed to finish my rust-red Idlewood nearly two weeks ago. I’ve given up on waiting for enough light to take a decent picture so you have to squint a bit.

idlewood5I’m really pleased with the fit and it was well worth ripping back almost all the body and the first sleeve.

It’s dry now after a much-needed soak and the collar has a lot more drape. Unfortunately, it’s still too dark to take a picture…
I used New Lanark Donegal Silk Tweed Aran in a rusty-red with beautiful blue flecks. It’s a slightly heavier Aran. This may be my new favourite yarn, it’s reasonably priced, comes in beautiful colours and has an awesome stitch definition. It’s also very sturdy – even the strain of ripping back the body didn’t affect the yarn in any way. At first the Donegal Silk Tweed felt a bit scratchy but it softened up nicely after the soak. The heather mixtures already start out a bit softer.
So, great yarn, great colour and a sweater that finally fits. Success!

2 thoughts on “Idlewood

  1. barefootrooster 10. January 2012 / 5:20 pm

    looks great! also, love the new blog layout. hooray for cozy sweaters — they always help with deadlines, right?

  2. Svenja 12. January 2012 / 10:27 pm

    Looks like a good fit, even in the dark. =)
    I’m glad you liked the New Lanark yarn, I’m fantasizing about buying some as a treat when I’ve delivered my bloody thesis (and, to be honest, about buying a lot of other yarn as well. I’m not sure we have enough room for all the yarn I have to buy to completely regain my sanity…).
    Eleven days left…..

Leave a Reply

