FO: 28thirty or superwash woes

It’s Friday and I’ve realized that I’ve been away from the blog for a longish time. Again. So, let me guide you into the weekend with a tale of horror and a semi-happy ending…

I’ve decided to never knit a sweater with superwash wool.ever.again. Here’s why…

You remember the sweater I mentioned in my last post? 28thirty in olive-green with stunning purple buttons? Yes, well, there’s a reason this FO didn’t make it into its very own post until now.

karisma_oliv

I used Drops Karisma Superwash in a lovely olive green. The yarn felt nice and smooth and had a slight sheen to it. In my mind, superwash until now equaled a yarn not prone to pilling and felting. Well, I was right about the not felting bit which meant I had to weave in a gazillion of ends – no spit splicing when attaching a new ball of yarn.
Despite this, everything looked fine before the soak. I found some lovely purple buttons, attached them and gave the sweater a bath.

green1

It soaked, I pinned it and left it to dry. I unpinned it and tried it on and… (insert a horrified gasp here) realised it had grown. Not so much that I can’t wear it for fear of looking like I clad myself in a tent but still to big.

Now, I did knit a swatch and even washed it. I got gauge and the fabric looked and felt sturdy and tight. After the soak it has a lot more (unwanted) drape which means the collar won’t stay up.
See for yourself…

28thrirty

It is wearable but I fear this won’t be one of the knitted items that last for life; I can already see the first fuzz and pilling. Oh well, I’ll stay away from superwash wool and the two other projects close to completion both use nice and sturdy non-superwash wool!
So, it’s back to work now for a few more hours. I’ll be back with a WIP roundup and hopefully some Christmas baking to show!

3 thoughts on “FO: 28thirty or superwash woes

  1. Philippa 10. December 2011 / 12:57 pm

    Oh you poor thing!! I feel immensely sorry for you, and your sad sweater.

    I don’t like superwash wool either, but often because of the way it’s spun – I really dislike like the look of fabric knit from multi-strand yarns with the resulting asymmetrical ‘V’s. (Good article which explains this much better than I can here: http://knitty.com/ISSUEfall05/FEATwhyply.html ).

    All that said, I do like the look of your sweater on you and I think it will be a very serviceable if not joyous garment. I wish you health to wear it! as my granny would say.

  2. Susann 11. December 2011 / 11:01 am

    Ach so’n Mist, dabei ist er eigentlich richtig schön.

  3. Catherine 24. April 2013 / 4:55 pm

    If you get the sweater wet again and put it in the dryer, it should go back to the original size. Because superwash wool doesn’t felt, it actually CAN go in the dryer.

Leave a Reply

