The Angel’s Game – Straight from the Shelves Friday

I’m really glad I’ve been able to keep up with my reading for the last weeks and managed to write a review for Friday.

So, Monday evening I finished reading „The Angel’s Game” (German title: Das Spiel des Engels) by Carlos Ruiz Zafón. I really liked “The shadow of the wind” which I received a s a present some years ago but somehow never managed to get a hold of “The Angel’s Game” until last week.

I read the German translation since the original is written in Spanish (which I don’t speak) and I really liked it.

Lots of reviews called ‘The Angel’s Game’ a page-turner and I have to agree – after the first chapters the story keeps you reading and I finished it in only two sittings over the weekend. I think the story is a really good mixture of mystery, romance and a some creepy bits. Set in pre-civil war Barcelona and told by the protagonist, David Martín himself ”The Angel’s Game’ takes the reader from the first years of Martín’s life as an unsuccessful journalist over his career as an author of pulp fiction to a fateful meeting with a mysterious French publisher who wants him to write a special book for him. There’s a faint hint of Faust in all this and I found the story both intriguing and exciting. I’ve checked two of Zafón’s earlier publications out from the library I’m looking forward to reading them!

Leave a Reply

