Solitary*

snow3

Weekends away always get me thinking about how a few years of living on my own made me appreciate a silent and empty flat. Years ago when I moved into the first flat of my own I had a really hard time with it. I was used to shared flats and at least one other person around, so the sudden silence was quite scary. After the first six months I was ready to throw in the towel and started looking for a new flat share. To cut it short, I didn’t find one and ended up in a bigger flat in a nicer part of town where I still live -now happily- on my own. I think I turned into a bit of a hermit πŸ˜‰ after all those years and I’d find myself quite unwilling to compromise if I were to share a flat again, I’m afraid…

What I’ve come to appreciate most about my own space are small things; like getting up as early as I want and make tea without tiptoeing around, coming back into a tidy flat after a long day at work (providing I managed to tidy up in the morning πŸ˜‰ ), cooking and cleaning exactly when, how and what I like.

Sometimes it’s nice to be a bit hermit-y πŸ™‚

Random searches for ‘solitude’ and ‘solitary’

  • Visuals: here and here
  • Books: click!
  • Blogsphere:I foundΒ  this post – though it deals with a more physical and slightly different aspect of being on one’s own –Β  very interesting

What about you? Do you like to be alone?

* a lovely song by Wilco from their last album

One thought on “Solitary*

  1. barefootrooster 17. February 2011 / 12:38 pm

    yes! i really treasure having my own space, and it is a big thing to share “home.” i think as i get older, i am getting a bit more set in my ways — i have my approaches to doing things, my routines, and i’m not really interested in negotiating all the compromises that come with roommates for someone who isn’t also someone i’m in love with. sharing “home” is a big deal, so for me, i think it needs to be paired with at least the possibility of sharing a life with someone.

Leave a Reply

