WIP Wednesday!

I’m trying to post more regularly this year and maybe the key to this is writing every week on the same day about a more or less fixed topic. So I’m joining the Work in progress Wednesday bandwagon!

Right now I only have a meagre two WIPs with any visible progress on my needles, so here goes!

 

Eat your greens socks

greens1

I have a love/hate relationship with sock patters. I love the idea of intricate socks with lots of cables or lace but whenever I start knitting a pair it always ends of as a Sleeping Beauty. I have socks in my hibernation pile I wanted to finish for my sister’s birthday THREE years ago. Still not finished, and the pattern is by no means complicated. There must be some River Rapids, Broadripples and Jaywalkers somewhere, all in various states of UFOdom. So, no patterned socks for me. I usually stick to my plain stockinette recipe and just buy outrageous sock yarn. This time though, I wanted to knit with this awesome Old Maiden Aunt superwash Merino sock yarn which is very subtly dyed and practically screams for some texture. Enter Basketweave! No pattern to follow, no rows to count! I just have to count to four!
So far, I love the texture and the first sock is growing quickly. The 13 hours’ train ride on the weekend will provide ample knitting time for these!

Woodland Shawl

My current lace project will probably take me a long time – rectangular shawls seem to grow in slow-motion. I’m ok with that, though and the constant colour change provided by the Aade Long yarn keeps it interesting and pleasing. My only problem with this Shawl is its unphotogenic attitude – it took me over ten attempts to get one semi-decent picture and it’s still kind of blurry! I’ll try to take some pictures outside this weekend.

woodland1

18 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday!

  1. CraftyCripple 9. February 2011 / 11:54 am

    My recommendation for tricky photographing is to use a tripod and the timer function on my camera. I know it sounds a bit flash, but I got a GorillaPod http://joby.com/gorillapod and it transformed my craft photographs. Much less wobble and blur. It wasn’t very expensive either.

    • mysmallplace 9. February 2011 / 4:16 pm

      Thanks for the tip – maybe it’s time to invest in some gadgets. My pictures have become perpetually blurry recently…

  2. Countess Ablaze 9. February 2011 / 12:52 pm

    I have yet to try sock knitting. I like the idea of really intricate socks as well but don’t think that I have the calves to show them off! Your Woodland Shawl is looking beautiful.

    • mysmallplace 9. February 2011 / 4:15 pm

      Another reason not to knit intricate socks – I usually wear trousers so my socks are always covered up anyway!

  3. Leah 9. February 2011 / 3:17 pm

    I love the colour of the socks! Good luck finishing them 🙂

    • mysmallplace 9. February 2011 / 4:13 pm

      Thanks! Glorious green!

  4. Christy 9. February 2011 / 3:19 pm

    Those are cute socks. Here’s cheering you on to the finish with them.

    • mysmallplace 9. February 2011 / 4:12 pm

      Thanks! I’m working on them right now!

  5. Nikki 9. February 2011 / 4:51 pm

    Wow, what beautiful colours to be knitting with! Bring on Spring : )

  6. Saff 9. February 2011 / 5:06 pm

    Love the green sock yarn – here’s to simple textured socks. I did a pair of basketweave socks for my husband and they’re lovely.

    • Saff 10. February 2011 / 11:40 am

      PS – the yarn on my citron is Cascade Alpaca Lace in colour 1418 – blue with a little bit of green.

  7. Tami 9. February 2011 / 5:58 pm

    Welcome to WIPW! 🙂 I started knitting a few months ago because I’ve wanted to make socks! I have yet to try it, but plan soon to start on a worsted weight before using any of my sock yarn from my stash. I figure it will be a little easier to see what I’m doing.

    I love the color you’re using and the pattern! Great job.

  8. Marushka 9. February 2011 / 8:09 pm

    I’m jumping on the bandwagon here — great socks! Great color! Your Woodland Shawl is going to be lovely.

    I’ve always found shades of red to be difficult to photograph, but sometimes it helps to find a background that is not too light-colored or too shiny.

  9. mysmallplace 9. February 2011 / 9:25 pm

    Thanks for all your compliments and tips! I’ve been a bit overwhelmed by the amount of comments on today’s post but it was really exciting and nice to get so much feedback!

  10. Denise 9. February 2011 / 10:10 pm

    Nice socks. Love the vivid spring color. I usually prefer plain vanilla stockinette socks too.

    Your shawl is very lovely.

  11. Marushka 9. February 2011 / 10:57 pm

    WIP Wednesday is great for comments, isn’t it? I just dropped in again to say thanks for your comment on my blog 🙂

    I love my Kromski Minstrel wheel, though I have to admit it I can’t compare it to anything else since it’s the only one I’ve used. It’s not too bad with the oil, when I use it a lot, I still only oil it every 2 sessions. I’m glad that I enjoy spinning as much as I do, I would have been sad to put the money into it and not like using it.

  12. Wonder Why Gal 10. February 2011 / 2:03 am

    Yikes! I don’t think I could have both of those projects going…one would have to be strictly knitting. They are both beautiful…I’m in awe of your talent. Really! I’m a frustrated knitter so I love to see people working actual patterns.

  13. suddenexpression 10. February 2011 / 10:15 am

    What a great way to try your hand at finishing the socks! And welcome to the WIPW meme. It sure helps me remember to post on a regular basis. Not to mention it’s fun!

Leave a comment