Welcome to Hermitville

I’ve been equally swallowed up by loads of work and and…loads of work. The first week of teaching went well but on Friday I had to proctor the second round of exams and today I had to sit down and do the actual grading. My desk is overflowing with papers and books and I think I am a bit stuck and frustrated with my PhD work. As a result I’ve gone into hermit-mode and once again disappeared from my blog!

There were some bright spots last week, though!

New wheel!

sonata

This is actually the replacement of the creaking, rattling and chattering, squeaky Sonata I had to send back – this one is perfect! Everything works fine and the noise is minimal. I’ve started spinning some lovely Corriedale and I’m in love, both with the wheel and the fibre ๐Ÿ™‚

corriedale

New knitting

I’ve temporarily abandoned my frogged Twenty Ten and turned to simpler and smaller projects. I finished a hat for my father yesterday while laughing myself through the last two episodes of ‘The Vicar of Dibley’ and cast onย  another one this morning during breakfast. No pics so far of the FO but I took one of the second hat today at work:

square

It’s a ‘Turn a square’ by Jared Flood and I’m using Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran and some leftover Austermann Alpaca Silk! Lovely pattern and very easy – just what I need right now.

New old desk

I managed to return some amount of order to my desk today – keeping my fingers crossed it stays that way!

desk

You don’t want to know what it looked like BEFORE I removed most of the paper and junk!

Have a good week!

One thought on “Welcome to Hermitville

  1. brokeknits 31. October 2010 / 2:37 am

    Good luck with all of your work! Maybe the new wheel will help with the other kinds of stuckness? Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

