Spinning in the rain

rain

It’s raining. Finally! So far, no thunderstorm in sight! Just a nice, steady rain. As a result my flat is once again a good place to be and I have been spinning on my wheel this morning before work and an hour ago I finished the first bobbin of a Corriedale roving by Old Maiden Aunt.

spring1

This yarn turned out to be nearly impossible to photograph, I think I deleted nearly 15 pictures before I managed this! I’m aiming for a heavy fingering / light dk weight yarn because I intend to turn this into acid green handwarmers or maybe a hat. I’m sure we will have a winter this year…

I’ve ordered some really nice BFL from The Thylancine and I can’t wait for it to arrive! In the meantime I desperately had to replenish my fibre stash – there was only some plain Süddeutsche Merino left. So I took the train/several trains to Mönchengladbach to Wollfabrik Huppertz and came back with this (please pardon the blurry picture!!!)

new_stash

There’s some Merino in the top row, Space and royal blue BFL in the second row. Lovely fibre, and the best: I paid only 15 € total. No hand-dyed  fibre, though, but that’s ok.

I’ll be back (hopefully tomorrow) with a report on my first successful attempt on Navajo-Plying and progress on my knitting projects.

Leave a Reply

