Knitting content

It has been a while since I wrote about my knitting projects but although my red monster quilt still lies abandoned in my living room (and will continue to do this until I manage to buy a smaller hoop) I did start and finish quite a few knitting projects.

Wicked

Taking pictures of myself wearing a sweater is a feat I have some problems with so no visual for this FO. I’m quite pleased with this, though, being my first finished sweater that’s actually wearable and I really like the colour. What I don’t like is the fact that my choice of yarn was a ‘bad’ albeit cheap one – I used Knit Picks Wool of the Andes (Tidepool Heather) and it started pilling from day one. It’s warm and comfy and suits me just fine, so it’s ok but I wouldn’t use this yarn again for anything other than maybe a hat.

Selbu modern

selbu_progress1

I’ve always been both fascinated and scared by Fair isle projects. My first foray into stranded colour work (Endpaper Mitts) ended badly and shall not be spoken about 😉 But then came the fateful day I ‘met’ neep heid (Ravelry link) and I started thinking that maybe I could try it again. I ordered wonderful Fair Isle yarn from the Shetland Isles – and put it aside for a while to start with an easier pattern with only two colours – Selbu modern (Ravelry link). I had some difficulties at first but the yarn i used (Rowan Scottish Tweed 4 ply) knitted up very smooth and by the end of the first week I was able to knit with each hand holding one colour.

selbu_fin

I love this hat. I’m constantly wearing it and I’m really glad I managed to finish it right in time for the cold weather!

Coming up next (hopefully): pictures of my finished green blob aka Vortex shawl, some socks and the beginning of a cabled cardigan! See U soon!

Leave a Reply

