Catching up… part 2

It’s Friday which means another semi-crazy week is over. It also means that I only have six days until my courses start and now and then I’m getting a bit nervous about this. But knitting a few rounds in plain stockinette soothes my nerves just fine πŸ˜‰ ! Since I did get a lot done this week I’m taking today off, mostly because today will be the only sunny and cool autumn day in the near future so I’m taking the chance for a long walk. I’ll be sure to take pictures!

Now, more catching up with my knitting!

1. “Wicked”
I’ve been working on my first sweater, “Wicked” (Ravelry link) in the worsted weight version for some time now and finished the body on monday. Now I’m happily knitting away on the first sleeve, which should be done this weekend. I used Knit Picks Wool of the Andes and so far I really like the yarn. Some progress shots:

wicked1

wicked2

wicked_progress

Now I’m hoping for a lot of cold day this autumn and winter!

2. Socks
I joined Lolly’s Socktoberfest because due to a lot of my oldest socks are giving up one by one and I really need to replenish my supply before it gets (hopefully!) cold. I’m working on one pair following my standard sock pattern and decided to cast on another one while following a pattern from Knitting Vintage socks by Nancy Bush.

sock1_blog
The yarn is from Online (I forgot which one and can’t find the label right now) and while the self patterning is a bit bold the muted colours make it ok. So far I like them and think they will be good company on the walks I’m planning.

vintage_sock_blog

The pattern is called Fancy Gentleman’s socks(ravelry link) and since I am no gentleman I had to reduce the stitches a lot! I tried this in a yarn which turned out to be slightly stripy and it didn’t work with the pattern so I frogged it and bought some Araucania Ranco solid in rust at my LYS. The pattern incorporates a heel I’ve never worked before and short rows so there is a bit of a challenge for me.

So I’m off for my walk. I’ll be back with the second sleeve and some more pics! See U!

Leave a Reply

