Re-growing stash

A while ago I had a terrible moth plague in my flat and as a result of this – apart from a real paranoia concerning all things fluttering – I had to throw away a certain amount of yarn which couldn’t be saved. I managed to freeze, microwave,  wash and dry some of it but there still is a considerable dent in my stash.

Adding to that I started quilting in earnest some years ago so I spent a part of my budget on fabric and quilting supplies and spent overall more time sewing and quilting. Then I signed up at ravelry and now I’m once again infatuated with knitting which shows in the increasing amount of UFOs around my flat.

When I was in Oldenburg two weeks ago my friend and I went to a cute little yarn store out in the middle of nowhere. The owner sells here own hand-dyed and hand-spun yarns as well as some regular brands. I couldn’t resist.

Here’s what I left with:

sockenwolle

zauberball

The top picture shows a hand-dyed sock yarn (did I mention how much I like teal and brown?) and I just had to buy the rainbow coloured Schoppel Zauberball, which is not only bright but knits up into an amazingly smooth and firm fabric despite it being a single ply and the colours are incredible. I can’t wait to cast on with this yarn but I’m resolved to finish another pair of socks first.

I’m waiting for the arrival of my ordered posh yarn and I thinks by tomorrow I will be stalking the mail-person…

Oh and I couldn’t resist a bargain offer of the last six balls of Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran my LYS had on display….

cashmerino_aran

Last but not least my friend surprised me with several belated birthday/Christmas presents and among those there was – guess what?! – yarn!

birthday_yarn

Now if only there could be more than 24 hours a day I’d manage to spend some time on all of my crafty projects….

Leave a Reply

