Leap of faith (or financial Harakiri)

I really did it. I still can’t believe it but I’m starting to feel good about it. Tuesday night I sat down at my computer at home and started clicking. I finally did something I’ve been agonizing about for month now always with the knowledge that at some point there would be no way around it.
On Tuesday night I squeezed my eyes shout before that final click and – bought a notebook. There, it’s official now. After years of torturing myself with a computer on snail-speed and an ancient system software called Windows 98 I’m now the proud owner of a brand new IBM/Lenovo ThinkPad. Yay! It will take about a week till I get it because I bought it on-line, so no pics yet but when it’s here? You’re in for one hell of a picture-fest!
You’re wondering why this meant a leap of faith or a potential financial Harakiri? Let me tell you something about my budget: it’s almost nonexistent.
But yesterday I met my knight in shining armour (that is, my professor) who happend to let me know that I will keep my job another semester. It’s not official yet, I still need to receive and sign a new contract which probably will take till end of march, but still!

So now I’m sitting in my office, working through my to-do list for today (almost done:-)) and the sun is shining – it’s a great day!
I’m amazed how sometimes things seem to work out on their own.

To end on a crafty note: My sock knitting proves to be contagious! My mother called me yesterday to inform me of an almost finished pair of socks she knit over the last weeks and my dear penfriend from over the pond will stop by her LYS to load up on sock knitting supplies.
You can never have to much handknit socks!
See U!

3 thoughts on “Leap of faith (or financial Harakiri)

  1. Teresa 15. January 2009 / 2:04 pm

    Congratulations!!!

  2. moragandme 16. January 2009 / 11:29 am

    EEEEE!! I am excited for you!! Once you have a portable computer full time, you’ll wonder why you ever used a desktop system. I literally sleep with my MacBook!

Leave a Reply

