Rescuing Jane Eyre

jasper_fforde_blog

During a visit to my favourite spot in Düsseldorf – the local library – I stumbled upon a series a friend has ‘bugged’ me to read for some time now, ‘The Thursday Next Series’ by Jasper Fforde. I’ve started to read the first one, ‘The Eyre Affair” and it’s hilarious! The heroine, Thursday Next, is working as a LiteraTec Special Operations agent in a 1985 Britain that is nearly a police state with its abundance of SpecOps and a media controlled by a shady organisation called Goliath Corporation. The Crimean War between Britain and the Russian Empire has been raging for 130 years and Dodos are the current pets. In this world (which is not at all depressing as a 1984 police state) the famous Bronteë character Jane Eyre gets kidnapped out of the original edition of the book by Britain’s Third Most Wanted Criminal Archeron Hades. It’s up to Thursday to go and rescue poor Jane and make a happy ending for her and Mr. Rochester…

I’m in the middle of reading this book but can already recommend it if you like literature and a bit of funny and intelligent fantasy! I’ve already borrowed the next three books of the series!

One thought on “Rescuing Jane Eyre

  1. Teresa 1. October 2008 / 1:06 pm

    I enjoyed reading your last few posts this morning. I am going to check out the book you recommended. I love to read and so does my mom who is 87. I like to pick up books for her to read while at the nursing home with my dad and this sounds like it might be good series to start her on.

    Your pictures are always so beautiful – thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

