Monday morning

This morning I woke to a grey and rainy sky and much too late – no early workout session for me today – and decided to work from my “home office”. I still have to prepare some things for this week’s session of my seminar on Thursday so that’s the main item on my schedule for today. My weekend was quiet mainly because I needed some time to recover from a day in the fruit shop (I really hate this job!).

Saturday’s mail brought me a great surprise: a letter from my canadian pen pal ! Apart from a nice long letter she sent me an awesome wooden card and a Smencil – a pencil recycled from old newspapers and flavoured with bubble gum scent. I can remember those pencils from primary school and I still love them! Here’s a picture of the postcard – it’s so cute!
wood
I got some work done on my red quilt top but not much. I managed to piece some pinwheels and cut all of the squares. This is my favourite fabric combination so far, I just love those small pink dots in all that red!
red pinwheel

That’s it for today, I have to get on with work now. Have a good week!

Als ich heute morgen – viel zu spät- aufgewacht bin, erwartete mich ein grauer Himmel und Regen: kein Frühsport für mich! Heute werde ich von zu Hause arbeiten; ich muß immer noch einiges für mein Seminar am Donnerstag vorbereiten, das ist heute ganz oben auf meiner To-Do-Liste. Das Wochenende war ziemlich ruhig, hauptsächlich, weil ich mich von einem langen Tag im Gemüseladen erholen mußte ( Ich hasse diesen Job!)
Am Samstag morgen brachte mir der Postbote aber noch eine schöne Überraschung: Post von meiner kanadischen Brieffreundin! Abgesehen von einem schönen, langen Brief hat sie noch eine tolle Postkarte aus Holz und einen Duftbleistift (Duftrichtung Kaugummi) aus recycelten Tageszeitungen mitgeschickt. Diese Bleistifte waren total in, als ich in der Grundschule war und ich war und bin ein großer Fan.
Ich habe ein bischen am roten Quilttop gearbeitet und ein paar Pinwheels genäht. Das Bild zeigt meinen Lieblingsblock, die pinkfarbenen Punkte sind einfach toll!
Aber genug für heute, die Arbeit ruft! Eine schöne Woche allerseits!

2 thoughts on “Monday morning

  1. Teresa 28. May 2008 / 11:10 am

    Cute board and I am not sure what the pencil is you are talking about. Recycle paper pencil? Would like to see a picture of that. Your red and pink quilt is just so pretty. I love the color and design.

  2. mysmallplace 2. June 2008 / 5:47 pm

    Thanks for stopping by! The Semcil is just like any other pencil just made out of recycled newspapers instead of wood! And its scented with bubble gum flavour!
    I’ll try to take a picture and put it on my flickr account, though!

Leave a Reply

